Page 1 of 1

GEORGE: execute system command/program

Posted: 21 Feb 2018, 14:02
by kaspar128
Hello TVPaint-Developers!

for our current production I would like to have a GEORGE-command that can execute a python-script externally. This would give me the option
to dynamically request data(through an intermediate/temporary textfile) for processing an export-batch of certain TVPaint-layers.

Some VFX-programs provide this ability with their scriptinglanguage..
for example:
"Flash" has something like:

Code: Select all

FLfile.runCommandLine('python generate_datafile_from_productiondatabase.py ep010_sc010_sho020 tempfile_ab55fcd565.txt')
"ToonBoom" has something like:

Code: Select all

var cmd = "python generate_datafile_from_productiondatabase.py ep010_sc010_sho020 tempfile_ab55fcd565.txt"
var proc = new Process2(cmd);
 proc.launch();
while (proc.isAlive()) {
    // wait a second. etc...
}
Latter is nice because, appareantly has the option to wait for the process to finish.

Could this feature be implemented soon please :-)
Very much thanks in advance from a big TVPaint-fan!

Kaspar

Re: GEORGE: execute system command/program

Posted: 21 Feb 2018, 16:47
by schwarzgrau
Sounds like a pretty nice idea, with a lot of useful cases.

Re: GEORGE: execute system command/program

Posted: 16 Mar 2018, 16:28
by kaspar128
According to this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=34&t=9281&p=85530&hilit=batch#p85530
.. it is possible to execute a batch-file with the windows-version of TVPaint. I could not get this to work when running a George-cmd thorugh the embedded-script-option..
But running:

Code: Select all

tv_runscript "c:/Users/user/tvpaint.bat"
, from an external script, worked!

How can i get this to work on a Linux-system? I tried giving every imaginable extension for the script "tvpaint.bat"
But everything results in an error.. It seems that on a Linux-system it is only possible to run a george-script with the command "tv_runscript"