How does one apply background?

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
vettpolmer

How does one apply background?

Post by vettpolmer »

Hi TV Paint forum members!
I'm somewhat new to TV Paint. So all I would like to know is... how do you apply a background which you have already painted onto a new layer - under the main figure/ character which is also on another layer - WITHOUT having to see the background THROUGH the main figure. I have made a screen shot to help show my dilemma! I used water colour to apply colour onto the main figure.
screen shot
screen shot
Greatly appreciate any suggestions! Thank you!!!
Paul Fierlinger

Re: How does one apply background?

Post by Paul Fierlinger »

You need to create a mask in the shape of your character and give the mask a solid color of your choice. We usually use the same color the frame it was painted on has -- most likely it will be the default color of an empty frame (white?).
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet
Soom

Post by Soom »

Paul Fierlinger wrote:You need to create a mask in the shape of your character and give the mask a solid color of your choice. We usually use the same color the frame it was painted on has -- most likely it will be the default color of an empty frame (white?).
What Paul means is that you have to create an additional layer with a solid color filling in the same shape of your character
at home: Hackintosh Intel Core i9-9900K, GPU AMD RX 6600 8GB, Cintiq 22" + Dell P2415Q 4K displays, MAC OS High Sierra / Windows 10, TVP Pro 11.7.1 + TVP Pro beta
at work: Windows 10, TVP 11.7.1 Std
https://vimeo.com/danas
Elodie

Post by Elodie »

@vettpolmer : You should download the last update of TVPaint ;)
vettpolmer

Post by vettpolmer »

Hi guys!